Skip to main content

What are the A8 countries?

Posted in

Czech Republic, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Poland, and Hungary
• Since 1 May 2004 workers from these new EU member states have been free to come to the UK and access the UK labour market.
• They are required to register employment with the Home Office through the Workers Registration Scheme (WRS) within 1 month of starting work in order to be working legally in the UK.
For more information –
•During their first 12 months of work, A8 Nationals are eligible for certain in-work benefits e.g. tax credits. After 12 months in continuous registered employment other unemployment benefits become available.
NB: Maltese & Cypriot Nationals have full freedom of movement rights & are not required to register